Wednesday, May 06, 2009

Nominations Open for 10th Annual Justicia Journalism Awards

Nominations are open for the 10th annual Justicia Awards for Excellence in Journalism.

The Awards, which are sponsored by the Canadian Bar Association and the Department of Justice Canada, celebrate outstanding journalism that fosters public awareness and understanding of the Canadian justice system.

Awards are given for French or English stories in two categories: print and broadcast media. They will be presented at a special ceremony in Ottawa in November 2009.

Winners receive a bronze statuette that is based on the Justicia statue that stands outside the Supreme Court building in Ottawa.

The deadline for nominations is June 12, 2009.

Last year, reporter Madeleine Roy and producer Mireille Ledoux were the winners in the broadcast category for their report "Justice pour Anas" on Radio-Canada's Emission Enquete in March 2008. The program examined the circumstances surrounding the 2005 shooting death of a 25-year-old Montrealer, Mohammed-Anas Bennis, at the hands of a police officer.

Don Butler of the Ottawa Citizen was the winner in the print category for his November 2007 stories which examined the persistence of public support for tough-on-crime policies advocated by elected officials.

Labels: , , , ,

Bookmark and Share Subscribe
posted by Michel-Adrien at 6:37 pm


Post a Comment

<< Home