Monday, May 26, 2014

Canadian Association of Law Libraries 2014 Conference Awards

 The Canadian Association of Law Libraries (CALL) held its annual awards luncheon earlier today at its annual conference in Winnipeg, Manitoba.
  • Denis Marshall Memorial Award for Excellence in Law Librarianship: the winner is Nancy McCormack from Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario. McCormack has authored or co-authored many books on legal research and was editor of the Canadian Law Libraries Review in the recent past
  • The 2013 Research Grant was awarded to Tim Knight of Osgoode Hall Law School and to Sarah Sutherland from CanLII to conduct research on "Exploring the Linked Data Application of The KF Modified Classification". The 2014 grant goes to Greg Wurzer of the University of Saskatchewan who will be researching the origins of headnotes in British caselaw
  • The 2014 Diana M. Priestly Memorial Scholarship is awarded to Veronika Kollbrand. She is currently enrolled in the JD/MLIS program at Dalhousie University 
  • 3 James D. Lang Memorial Scholarship were awarded this year: Jennifer Adams (Sir James Dunn Law Library, Schulich School of Law, Dalhousie University) received funding to support her attendance at the four day “Certificate in Leadership Excellence” course at St. Mary’s University; Mary-Jo Mustoe (R. Boak Burns Law Library, Welland County Law Association) received funding to attend the U of T iSchool Institute Symposium called “Defining New Metrics for Library Success”; and Bronwyn Guiton (Lawson Lundell LLP, Vancouver) will receive funds to attend a course at 2014 SLA in Vancouver this June. The course is called “CI Success for Librarians and Info Pros, from Start- up to World Class”. 

Labels: , ,

Bookmark and Share Subscribe
posted by Michel-Adrien at 3:23 pm


Post a Comment

<< Home