Wednesday, December 02, 2009

Call for Nominations: Hugh Lawford Award for Excellence in Legal Publishing

The Canadian Association of Law Libraries (CALL / ACBD) has opened the nomination period for the next Annual Hugh Lawford Award for Excellence in Legal Publishing.

The award was created:

"means of acknowledging the work that is done by publishers to provide the legal profession with high quality materials for use in understanding and researching the law (...) "

"The award may be given for a wide variety of publishing endeavours – a specific book, series, service, or a particularly innovative publishing venture. All formats are eligible, including print, electronic, and audio-visual. The intent is to recognize excellent products and services, whether published in a traditional format or with new technology. English- and French-language publications will be considered."

The deadline for nominations is January 15, 2010.
  • Nominations must include the name of the publisher, the title of the nominated work, and an explanation of why the nominated publisher and work are worthy of being granted the award. The explanation should, at a minimum, address how the nominated work is of use to the Canadian legal profession in understanding and researching the law.
  • Nominations must be made by a member of CALL or publisher. Publishers may nominate their own work.
  • All nominations must include the names of two CALL members who support the nomination.
  • Eligible works must have been published in the last two years, or in the case of a series or ongoing work, must have achieved a particular goal within the last two years.
Submissions should be sent to the CALL Executive Member-at-Large who is Chair of the Award Committee:

Susan Jones
Nova Scotia Barristers’ Society
1815 Upper Water Street, 7th Floor
Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1S7
Fax: (902) 422-1697
Email: sjones [AT]

Labels: , , ,

Bookmark and Share Subscribe
posted by Michel-Adrien at 1:04 pm


Post a Comment

<< Home