Monday, May 06, 2013

Canadian Association of Law Libraries 2013 Conference Awards Luncheon

As part of its annual conference in Montreal, the Canadian Association of Law Libraries (CALL) held its Awards Luncheon earlier today.

The winners of various CALL awards and scholarships were officially announced.

  • Hugh Lawford Award for Excellence in Legal Publishing:
    The Award acknowledges the work done by publishers to provide the legal community with high quality materials. This year's award goes to the Canadian Yearbook of International Law (UBC Press). 
  • Diana M. Priestley Memorial Scholarship:
    The Scholarship is intended to support professional development in the field. This year's recipient is Sarah Richmond, a member of the Ontario Bar currently enrolled in the MLIS program at the University of Western Ontario. 
  • James D. Lang Memorial Scholarship:
    The scholarship is designed to support attendance at a continuing education program, be it a workshop, certificate program or other similar activity deemed appropriate by the  Scholarships and Awards Committee. Recipients are Liana Giovando (for studies at the iSchool at the University of Toronto), Susannah Tredwell (attendance at courses at the Simon Fraser University Publishing Program), Amy Kaufman (atrendance at the Charleston Conference on "Book and Serials Acquisition" in South Carolina), and Catherine Cotter (attendance at the Harvard Leadership Institute for Academic Libraries).
  • Janine Miller Fellowship:
    This provides funding annually for one CALL member to attend the Law via the Internet Conference, an initiative of the Legal Information Institutes worldwide that constitute the Free Access to Law Movement. The winner is Rosalie Fox, director of the Supreme Court of Canada. She has played a major role in the dissemination of free legal information via CanLII, the Canadian Legal Information Institute, and LexUM, which is the publisher of Supreme Court decisions online. This year's conference is on the Isle of Jersey in the Channel Islands off the coast of Normandy.
  • Canadian Law Library Review Feature Article Award:
    The recipient is Jenny Thornhill for her article in vol. 37, no. 1 on "Judicial Judgments: A Template" on the development of standards for the production of judgments by the Nunavut Court of Justice. 
  • The Denis Marshall Memorial Award for Excellence in Law Librarianship: Not awarded this year.

Labels: , , , ,

Bookmark and Share Subscribe
posted by Michel-Adrien at 3:39 pm


Post a Comment

<< Home