Friday, December 11, 2015

Lawyers Who Have Won the Nobel Peace Prize

December 10th is the day on which the annual winners of the Nobel Prizes in various fields collect their awards in Oslo or Stockholm.

The Nobel Prize winners in literature, chemistry, physics, medicine and economics gather in the Swedish capital. The winner or winners of the yearly Peace Prize attend a ceremony in Oslo.

Law Library of Congress employee Jennifer Gonzalez has written a two-part post on the Library's blog In Custodia Legis about the many lawyers and law professors who have won the Peace Prize:
The list includes Oscar Arias (ending civil wars in Central America), Nelson Mandela, Cordell Hull (Secretary of State under FDR), René Cassin (UN Declaration of Human Rights), Dag Hammarskjöld (UN Secretary General) and Shirin Ebadi (Iranian human rights defender).

Labels: , ,

Bookmark and Share Subscribe
posted by Michel-Adrien at 11:19 am


Post a Comment

<< Home