Thursday, June 02, 2011

Nominations for 12th Annual Justicia Awards

Nominations are open until June 20, 2011 for the 12th Annual Justicia Awards that reward "outstanding broadcast and print or Web journalism that fosters public awareness and understanding of the Canadian justice system".

The Awards are given each year by the Canadian Bar Association (CBA) and the Department of Justice for French or English stories in two categories: print and broadcast media. The 2011 Awards will be presented at the CBA's Canadian Legal Conference in Halifax, Nova Scotia in August.

Last year, a team from the Victoria Times Colonist was the winner in the print category for a series on access to information in the B.C. courts, published in February 2010. A team from Radio-Canada's Enquête was the winner in the broadcast category for a February 2010 show on the practice of paying informants.

The eligibility criteria and a complete list of past winners are included on the CBA Justicia Award website.

Winners receive a bronze statuette that is based on the statue that stands outside the Supreme Court building in Ottawa.

Labels: , , , ,

Bookmark and Share Subscribe
posted by Michel-Adrien at 5:55 pm


Post a comment

<< Home